Go To Search
Howard Dickinson House
Howard house Ghost.jpg



About the House

Poised serenely on a gentle hill overlooking South Main Street, the Howard Dickinson House stands as a testament to more than 130 years of Rusk County hospitality and history.

The Howard Dickinson House was the first brick home built in the county. Two brothers, James and David P. Howard, settlers from Virginia, erected the house in 1855. The brothers were brick masons and carpenters and were involved in building many of the buildings in downtown Henderson.

Sam Houston was a frequent visitor to the house. The first president of the Republic of Texas was also a cousin to Martha Ann (Mrs. Dave) Howard. The Texas statesman’s campaign trunk is displayed in the house.

In 1967, the Howard Dickinson House was restored by the Rusk County Heritage Association and opened to the public as a living museum and meeting place for special events. The house is open by appointment only.

The Howard Dickinson House was presented a Texas Historical Medallion in 1968, and was recorded as a Texas Historic Landmark.
Ghost Tours in October tours throughout the year by appointment.  For further
information please contact the Chamber of Commerce at (903)657-5528 or leave a message at the Howard Dickinson House at (903)657-6925.
Howard Dickinson House
501 S. Main
Henderson, TX 75652

Ph: (903) 657-5528