City Council

Composition of the Council

The municipal government of the City of Henderson consists of a mayor, elected as large, and five council members elected from five geographically defined districts. The mayor and council members in districts two and three are elected in even numbered years and council members in districts one, four, and five are elected in odd numbered years. The mayor and all council members shall serve two-year terms.

Election of Officers

Elections are conducted in accordance with the Texas Election Code. The mayor and all council members are elected by a majority of votes cast. In the event there are more than two candidates for any one office and a candidate does not receive a majority vote, a runoff election must be held.

Qualifications for Office

A candidate for office must be a bona fide resident of the district for the office sought on the day of filing for such office. Candidates must be at least 21 years of age and shall be a qualified voter of the State of Texas and a citizen of the city for a period of time not less than six months next preceding his/her election. No member of the council may hold any other office or salaried employment under the city government while serving as a member of the City Council nor as such within one year thereafter. Any council member ceasing to reside in the district for which elected must immediately forfeit his/her office. No member of the council may hold any other public office, except as notary public, while a member of the council. No candidate for public office or public official shall be delinquent in any account owed to the city.